I FEEL EVERYTHING IN SECRET

Tonight (Lovers)

So last fall was a weird time for me. I was questioning where Rad Hos was going as a band, whether I wanted to keep doing it or just continue it as a solo project. I had been living alone for a few months, which in many ways I love but can get lonely, on top of this I was having weird feelings toward weird people and I was generally sort of just a mess, going through the motions. As with every rough patch in my life, there are many songs that I associate with that time. They are linked to this period of my life, for better or worse, in a way that could never be shaken, the way Pinkerton reminds me of getting dumped by my first girlfriend or Let It Be is forever tied to my senior year of high school. One of those songs is called “Tonight” by a band from Portland called Lovers.

I had never heard of this band, and still haven’t really heard much else by them. My friend Jes was going through similar strange times and posted a link to this video on facebook. The song was absolutely gorgeous, and every word hit me really hard. Sometimes songs might not have anything to do with the actual thing that’s going on but for whatever reason it FEELS like it has EVERYTHING to do with everything. this was one of those songs.

As I prepare to move out of this apartment at the end of the month, I’m revisiting a lot of the things that sum it up for me. I wrote and recorded a lot of tunes here (Nothin’ In My Eyes, Welcome to The Jungle, Can You Feel My Heart Beating, and an upcoming 7″), watched a shitload of movies here, ate a lot of pizza and drank a lot of soda and kissed some girls and really wanted to kiss other girls and listened to a whole whole lot of songs.

Anyways I hope you enjoy my cover of this tune, it felt really good to sing it because it’s a beautiful song.

-Sam

One thought on “I FEEL EVERYTHING IN SECRET

Leave a Reply

