MALL OF AMERICA

So before I left on tour in September I released an EP online called MALL OF AMERICA. It was originally intended as a tour EP, but I didn’t get it done in time to have physical copies with me, so I just threw it up online. One of the many fascinating things about music in 2013 is, I can make a record in my room or basement, and never leave the house before people are singing along to it at home. It’s amazing and inspiring and terrifying and really interesting. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the differences between a “real” record and a demo/online-only release.

Anyways I thought it would be sort of fun to extend MALL OF AMERICA beyond an Extended Player Single and into Long Player territory. I’m in talks with a label to eventually release it on tape, and I’ve decided it would be fun to keep adding songs until that day comes. They may be demos of songs that will eventually be turned into something completely different by the band, or they may be just the way they will always be, or they may be a silly cover or a throw away nothing jam. Basically it boils down to, I’m bored a lot, spend a lot of time by myself, and Rad Hos the band is currently on hiatus while Jeff Bolt Plays Drums around the world with his “side project,” the immortal SWEARIN’. Plus I just really like the idea that, if the nature of the album as we know it is changing, I can participate in that change in a fun way. 

So watch MALL OF AMERICA fill up and become a full-length before your eyes. The first addition was Love and Death. The second was a cover of Simple Man by Graham Nash. The third and most recent is called Cut Your Bangs. Do you think it’s gonna make him change?

 

In related news our guitar player Cynthia is an awesome songwriter in her own right and has started doing this awesome band called Heavy Bangs with our other awesome friends. you’d be wise to check these songs out. 

-Sam

Leave a Reply

